How do I start modding?

MRkiller702

Hello, I'm a beginner to coding. But I don't seem to understand mod development for GTA 5, it's something I've wanted to start but I have no real idea how. What kind of software should I use? Which tool should I start with (Scripthook, ragehook,)? I was really hoping the mod community here could help me!

Honestly, don't bother with Script Hook V. If you want to do anything LSPDFR or police related, stick to Rage Plugin Hook.

There is a bit of a learning curve, but once you get the hang of it, things get easier.

As FtDLulz said, download Visual Studio Community 2013. Its free, and it is "straight from the horse's mouth", so to speak. Its a Microsoft tool, and Microsoft makes the .NET Framework, which is what all these plugins are developed on. The Community edition does not have all the tools that the professionals use in the Premium and Ultimate versions, but honestly, it doesn't matter. Community has more than enough built into it...take it from someone who is a .NET Developer for a living. I make money and pay my bills doing this stuff, and I use Visual Studio Premium at work. I find that Community is more than enough for stuff I want to do with LSPDFR scripts.

Now, all that said...DON'T LOOK AT ANY RAGE/LSPDFR CODE YET!!

Don't do it! I know you're looking at LukeD's Example API project in the other thread...its tempting, isn't it?

Well, don't download it! I'm watching you...

Okay, seriously...I would strongly suggest looking up some tutorials online on how to code in C#. Learn about the basic concepts...learn what a function is, what a variable is, what a loop is, etc. Start by making a program in C# that opens a Command Prompt (DOS) window and writes "Hello World!". You can do that one in about 5 minutes...literally.

Hint:

Console.WriteLine("Hello World!");