Black Jesus

How do I start making cars?

Hey guys I wanted to start getting into actually making car models, and I was wondering what I need to do this? I heard i need Zmodeler but what els do I need to make uniforms, guns and etc?

MODERATOR NOTICE
Moving to Development Tutorials and Questions.

I believe that Zmod and an image editor (photoshop, GIMP, paint.net, etc) are pretty much all you need, besides OpenIV or SparkIV.  I'm not a modeler, however, so my knowledge on the subject is rather basic.

You may want to give this a look: '?do=embed' frameborder='0' data-embedContent>>

Hey guys I wanted to start getting into actually making car models, and I was wondering what I need to do this? I heard i need Zmodeler but what els do I need to make uniforms, guns and etc?

Hello Blackjesus32,

You need:

1) Gimp or Photoshop (Photoshop is what I use)

2) 3ds max (the student version is free for 3 years)

3) Zmodeler (I use v2.2.4)

As a modeler I use 3ds Max to make the model/object, I export it as a .obj, then I import it via Zmodeler.

An image editor is mainly for changing texture colors, making skins, etc. And YES YOU DO NEED IT!

To scratch make a car, you will need 3DS Max or Zmodeler (I prefer 3DS Max). You also need the blueprints

of the car as-well. If you make the model in 3ds Max you export the file, then in Zmodeler you import the file you exported

in 3ds max. In Zmodeler you have to assign textures, UV map, create dummies, etc. It is basically very complicated.

I hope this helps!!!

Hello Blackjesus32,

You need:

1) Gimp or Photoshop (Photoshop is what I use)

2) 3ds max (the student version is free for 3 years)

3) Zmodeler (I use v2.2.4)

As a modeler I use 3ds Max to make the model/object, I export it as a .obj, then I import it via Zmodeler.

An image editor is mainly for changing texture colors, making skins, etc. And YES YOU DO NEED IT!

To scratch make a car, you will need 3DS Max or Zmodeler (I prefer 3DS Max). You also need the blueprints