I decided to make a start with designing skins. I've been trying to master GIMP and I am still learning. Today I'd like to show you my first skins. Hopefully you guys can give me feedback, hints or tips so I can improve the skins and myself :)

My first 2 skins:

(Models are from t0y. I take no credits for the models. The cars can be found here: 

Blaine County Sheriff Ford Police Interceptor

Taurus - front.png

Taurus - back.png

Blaine County Sheriff Chevrolet Tahoe

Tahoe - front.png

Tahoe - back.png

It's a good start for sure, but there are some things that, in my opinion, could be changed to make the livery even better. Most importantly, you might want more contrast between the base color, the text color, and the decals (wolves). For example, the wolves and base color are okay together, but the "SHERIFF" is hard to read because of its color. Changing the color to something brighter, or even better: outlining the text with another color, might help. The other text (Dial 911, 292, etc.) is hard to read, too, because the color of the text is similar to the paint behind it. Realistically (realism is not necessary for custom designs, though) typical patrol cars have contrasting car/text colors so that the car is easily identifiable. Stealth cars often don't follow this pattern, though.