Sign in to follow this  
Mustu

Making use of EVI's Emergency Lighting Equipment?

Hey LCPDFR officers,

I'm fairly new to modelling (I can put on light bars successfully, but I'm having problems with the Whelen Talon by bxbugs123) and I just wanted to know how to turn a piece of lighting equipment from a z3d file to a wft file with all the textures. Currently what I'm doing, is I import the textures for the grill lights (included in the HG2 Lighting Equipment) and click open. At this point, it asks if I want to discard the changes that I've made (I just imported some textures) and then when I click either yes or no, it totally discards those textures and I'm left with just the plain model. No textures or anything to it, so it won't even work in game properly. Any ideas on where I could find some grill lights or how to convert those z3d files in to working, .wft file formats? Help is greatly appreciated and the sooner I get help, the sooner I can release my first model for SCNG :)

First, you have to import the textures as normal.

Then, go to file - open and then click cancel. Do not click on either yes or no.

Choose the .z3d model you imported the textures for, and thats basically it.

Edited by TUNES

When in zmod, it doesn't matter if you have the textures when you export from a .z3d file. Altough when in your project file,(.z3d) open up material editor (by pressing E) go to the the texture bit and add the textures from there, then import your new .wtf file and the textures should appear, then you need to add those textures to your .wtd file using Open IV (Spark Iv will not work, you can only replace in Spark) So you can see ingame, In Open IV make sure your in edit mode =) 

Anything else?